• Silbersee, video HD, installation view Schloss Ringenberg, 2015

  • The Night Side, video HD, installation view Dan Gunn, Berlin, 2016

  • Bitterfeld, installation view Dan Gunn, Berlin, 2016

Alexandra Navratil

Lecturer bachelor and master

Forum Kunst, artistic mentoring, art projects

Alexandra Navratil (*1978) studied fine arts (bachelor) at Central St. Martins College in London and Goldsmiths College in London (master). Since 2018 she has been a jury member of The Technical Committee for Film and Media Art BS/BL.

Alexandra Navratil’s work often starts with scientific and historical research on the beginnings of photography, film and industrial history. By combining and animating found visual material, Navratil’s work cycles reflect on the beginnings of modernity and their effects on today’s visual world. The works in video, installation, sculpture, film and screen-printing follow material stories in a poetic and analytical way.

Alexandra Navratil’s work was awarded The Manor Art Prize in Zurich in 2013 and The Swiss Art Award in 2009 and 2012. She was artist-in-residence at the EYE Film Museum in Amsterdam, the ISCP New York and the IMMA in Dublin, among others. In recent years her work has been shown in solo exhibitions at the Kunstmuseum Winterthur; Stedelijk Museum Bureau, Amsterdam; CCS, Paris; and Photoforum Pasquart, Biel, as well as in institutional group exhibitions at CAPC, Bordeaux; Museum Sztuki, Lodz; ICA, Philadelphia; and de Appel, Amsterdam.

alexandra.navratil@fhnw.ch
www.alexandranavratil.com

• Silbersee, video HD, installation view Schloss Ringenberg, 2015

  • The Night Side, video HD, installation view Dan Gunn, Berlin, 2016

  • Bitterfeld, installation view Dan Gunn, Berlin, 2016

Alexandra Navratil

Dozentin Bachelor und Master

Forum Kunst, Mentorate, Projekt Kunst

Alexandra Navratil (*1978) studierte bildende Kunst (Bachelor) am Central St. Martins College in London und am Goldsmiths College in London (Master). Seit 2018 ist sie Jurymitglied des Fachausschusses Film und Medienkunst BS/BL.

Ausgangspunkt für Alexandra Navratil’s Arbeit sind oft wissenschaftlich- historische Recherchen zu den Anfängen der Fotografie, Film- und Industriegeschichte. Durch die Kombination und Animation von gefundenem Bildmaterial denken Navratil’s Werkzyklen über die Anfänge der Moderne nach und deren Auswirkungen auf die heutige Bilderwelt. Die Arbeiten in Video, Installation, Skulptur, Film und Siebdruck folgen auf poetische und analytische Weise Materialgeschichten.

Alexandra Navratil’s Arbeit wurde 2013 mit dem Manor Kunstpreis Zürich und 2009 und 2012 mit dem Swiss Art Awards ausgezeichnet. Sie war unter anderem artist-in-residence am EYE Filmmuseum in Amsterdam, am ISCP New York und am IMMA in Dublin. Ihre Arbeiten waren in den letzten Jahren unter anderem in Soloausstellungen im Kunstmuseum Winterthur, SMBA Stedelijk Museum Bureau Amsterdam, CCS Paris und Photoforum Pasquart Biel und in institutionellen Gruppenausstellungen im CAPC Bordeaux, Museum Sztuki Lodz, ICA Philadelphia und de Appel Amsterdam zu sehen.

alexandra.navratil@fhnw.ch
www.alexandranavratil.com