• How to decide what to do with your life, videoinstallation 2016

  • How to decide what to do with your life, performance 2016

  • Kreide fressen, HD Video 2013

  • Strings, videoinstallation 2011

  • Gardien de la
    paix (GPX) , HD Video 2011

Lena Maria Thüring

Lecturer bachelor and master

Forum Kunst, artistic mentoring, video workshop, art project

Lena Maria Thüring (*1981) lives and works in Zurich and Basel. Thüring graduated in 2007 with a degree in photography and in 2014 with a Master of Arts in Fine Arts from the Zurich University of the Arts (ZHdK). From 2014 to 2017 she was a member of the jury of The Technical Committee for Film and Media Art BS/BL in Basel.

At the core of Thuring’s artistic position is her interest in socio-political conditions and their effects on society. Using various media such as video, sound, photography, performance and installation, Thüring questions social systems and their underlying constructions. Spoken language is the central medium by way of which she makes process of the production of history visible and handles topics of linguistic articulation, collective and personal memories, social structures, gender and identity.

Lena Maria Thüring’s works have been shown in numerous solo and group exhibitions in museums and institutions, including solo exhibitions at Kunsthaus Baselland; Museum für Gegenwartskunst, Basel; and Kunstmuseum im PROGR, Bern, and group exhibitions and screenings at the Kunsthalle Basel; Haus der Kulturen, Berlin; Nationalmuseum Reina Sofia, Madrid; and Palais de Tokyo, Paris. In addition to numerous prizes such as the Swiss Art Award (2008); the Kiefer Hablitzel Foundation Prize (2009, 2011); Werkbeiträge der Stadt Zürich (2011, 2016); the Basel Manor Art Prize (2013); and a state-funded public art project at the Swiss Embassy in Seoul (2018). She has spent time in studios in Paris (2009) and New York (2010).

lenamaria.thuering@fhnw.ch
www.lenamariathuering.ch

• How to decide what to do with your life, videoinstallation 2016

  • How to decide what to do with your life, performance 2016

  • Kreide fressen, HD Video 2013

  • Strings, videoinstallation 2011

  • Gardien de la
    paix (GPX) , HD Video 2011

Lena Maria Thüring

Dozentin Bachelor und Master

Forum Kunst, Mentorate, Workshop Video, Projekt Kunst

Lena Maria Thüring (*1981) lebt und arbeitet in Zürich und Basel. Thüring schloss 2007 ein Studium der Fotografie und im 2014 ein Master of Arts in Fine Arts an der Zürcher Hochschule der Künste (ZHdK) ab. Von 2014 bis 2017 war sie Jurymitglied des Fachausschusses Audiovision und Multimedia, BS/BL, Basel, CH.

Im Zentrum Thürings künstlerischer Auseinandersetzung ist ihr Interesse an sozial-politischen Gegebenheiten und deren Auswirkungen auf die Gesellschaft. Thüring befragt mittels unterschiedlicher Medien wie Video, Ton, Fotografie, Performance oder Installation gesellschaftliche Systeme sowie die ihnen zugrundeliegenden Konstruktionen. Dabei ist die gesprochene Sprache das zentrale Medium, an welchem sie Prozesse der Geschichtsproduktion sichtbar macht und Themen der sprachlichen Artikulation, kollektiver und persönlicher Erinnerungen, gesellschaftliche Strukturen, Gender und Identität verhandelt.

Lena Maria Thüring’s Arbeiten wurden in zahlreichen Einzel- und Gruppenausstellungen in Museen und Institutionen gezeigt, darunter in Einzelausstellungen im Kunsthaus Baselland, dem Museum für Gegenwartskunst Basel, dem Kunstmuseum im PROGR Bern und in Gruppenausstellungen und Screenings in der Kunsthalle Basel, im Haus der Kulturen Berlin, im Nationalmuseum Reina Sofia in Madrid und im Palais de Tokyo in Paris. Neben zahlreichen Preisen wie dem Swiss Art Award (2008), Preis der Kiefer Hablitzel Stiftung (2009, 2011), Werkbeiträge der Stadt Zürich (2011, 2016), dem Manorkunstpreis Basel (2013) und einem Kunst am Bau Projekt an der Schweizer Botschaft in Seoul (2018), verbachte die Künstlerin Atelieraufenthalte in Paris (2009) und New York (2010).

lenamaria.thuering@fhnw.ch
www.lenamariathuering.ch