Roman Kurzmeyer

Lecturer master

Plenum, artistic mentoring, curator of the TANK

Dr. Phil. Roman Kurzmeyer (*1961) studied history, German and art history at the University of Basel and earned his doctorate with Martin Schaffner and Gottfried Boehm. He is curator of the Ricola Collection in Laufen, a board member of both the Camille Graeser Foundation in Zurich and the Erica Ebinger-Leutwyler Foundation in Lucerne and a member of the purchasing committee of the Kunstmuseum Liechtenstein in Vaduz.

He conveys art history as a history of artistic practice, which thus encompasses both the artists and their working conditions as well as the works themselves and their public exhibition. Accordingly, both the working situation and the distinction between external perception of the individual artistic proposal and that of the author are considered in his student mentoring. His main areas of work are examinations of the influence of living and production conditions on artistic practice; the realization of exhibitions and publications; and texts on contemporary art and the recent history of exhibitions.

Roman Kurzmeyer is co-editor of the catalogue of all exhibitions organized by Harald Szeemann (1933-2005); author of the monograph Kunst überfordern: Aldo Walker (1938-2000); and (together with Roger Perret) editor of the volume Dunkelschwestern with pictures and literary texts by Annemarie von Matt (1905-1967) and Sonja Sekula (1918-1963). His recently published works are Atelier Amden / The Amden Atelier 1999-2015 as well as Existenz und Form. Schriften zur neueren Kunst. In 2004 Roman Kurzmeyer was awarded the Swiss Grand Award of Award.

roman.kurzmeyer@fhnw.ch
www.atelier-amden.ch
www.sammlung.ricola.ch

Roman Kurzmeyer

Dozent Master

Plenum, Mentorate, Kurator der TANK

Dr. Phil. Roman Kurzmeyer (*1961) studierte Geschichte, Germanistik und Kunstgeschichte an der Universität Basel und promovierte bei Martin Schaffner und Gottfried Boehm. Er ist Kurator der Sammlung Ricola in Laufen, Stiftungsrat der Camille Graeser-Stiftung in Zürich, der Erica Ebinger-Leutwyler Stiftung in Luzern und Mitglied der Ankaufskommission des Kunstmuseums Liechtenstein in Vaduz.

Kunstgeschichte, wie er sie vermittelt, ist eine Geschichte der künstlerischen Praxis und umfasst somit sowohl die KünstlerInnen und deren Produktionsbedingungen als auch die Werke und ihre öffentliche Ausstellung. In den Mentoratsgesprächen mit den Studierenden haben dementsprechend sowohl die Arbeitssituation als auch die Unterscheidung von Autor- und Aussenwahrnehmung des individuellen Kunstvorschlags Bedeutung. Arbeitsschwerpunkte bilden Untersuchungen zum Einfluss von Lebens- und Produktionsbedingungen auf die künstlerische Praxis, die Erarbeitung von Ausstellungen und Publikationen sowie Texte zur zeitgenössischen Kunst und zur neueren Ausstellungsgeschichte.

Roman Kurzmeyer ist Mitherausgeber des Katalogs aller von Harald Szeemann (1933-2005) organisierten Ausstellungen und Autor der Monographie Kunst überfordern: Aldo Walker (1938-2000) und (zusammen mit Roger Perret) Herausgeber des Bandes Dunkelschwestern mit Bildern und literarischen Texten von Annemarie von Matt (1905-1967) und Sonja Sekula (1918-1963). Zuletzt erschienen sind Atelier Amden / The Amden Atelier 1999-2015 sowie Existenz und Form. Schriften zur neueren Kunst. 2004 wurde Roman Kurzmeyer mit dem Prix Meret Oppenheim ausgezeichnet.

roman.kurzmeyer@fhnw.ch
www.atelier-amden.ch
www.sammlung.ricola.ch