BACHELOR’s Program

Bachelor of Arts FHNW in Fine Arts

The bachelor’s program at the Art Institute encourages you to develop your own artistic position. In the studio, in project work and in the context of exhibitions, students gradually develop their own artistic language and handwriting. The study course demands a high degree of self-initiative.

Studying art means becoming familiar with art. Artists are pioneers who seek to link up apparently disparate worlds in new ways and by new means. They redefine the language of traditional media, materials and technologies by creating artworks, developing concepts, writing essays, exploring archives and choreographing bodies in space. Artists are captivated by the never-ending task of experiencing and representing what we call reality in new ways.

The three-year bachelor’s program introduces you to issues of current-day art practice and helps you to develop your own work approach. It is not a training in art history; instead you gather experience and are confronted with a wide array of ideas, forms, media, materials and questions relating to matters such as individuality. Apart from working in the studio, group discussions with other students and lecturers form a core of the course. On a regular basis artists and art theoreticians from Switzerland and abroad are invited as visiting scholars to support you in your studies. In the three-year BA course you acquire technical skills and expand your knowledge concerning the questions and topics that drive today’s art practice.

Download Magazine Our Bachelor’s Program — Art Institute HGK FHNW


Requirements for the admission procedure

Admission to the program of the Art Institute requires the following:
— Swiss state-certified high school diploma (Matura, equivalent to A Level degree)
— Swiss state-certified professional Matura diploma
– Swiss state-certified vocational Matura diploma in the field of art and design
– Teacher’s College degree
– Three-year certificate from a state-certified intermediate commercial college (Handelsmittelschule)
– In the case of other educational qualifications the FHNW Academy of Art and Design conducts a comparative test.

Without being mandatory, a one-year long professional experience or the completion of a preparatory course is recommended.


AKAD preparatory course

Candidates who do not have a Matura diploma (high school, professional or vocational) but hold a certificate of an equivalent education at the level of Secondary School II, have the opportunity to attain a state-certified professional Matura diploma (following their apprenticeship) or to visit the two-semester, part-time preparatory course for the entrance exams at the Academy of Art and Design offered by AKAD. This course in general education is a distant-learning course and is concluded with an exam at the level of a professional Matura. You can register at AKAD at any time.

The Academy may admit candidates who have not passed their AKAD exam by this date to the aptitude assessment. After successfully completing the admissions procedure, the candidates must catch up on the Academy’s preparatory course at AKAD. If they provide evidence of having passed the AKAD exams latest by 30 June, they can commence their studies at the Academy in the autumn semester of the same year. Up to this date, their place of study is guaranteed. The candidates bear the costs of the course and exam fees.

AKAD College Zürich, Jungholzstrasse 43, 8050 Zürich
+41 44 307 31 31, college@akad.ch, www.akad.ch


Catching up on the professional Matura degree

Information concerning the full and part-time training courses for the professional technical, design-related and commercial Matura degree can be obtained from the respective vocational schools locally.


Admission «sur dossier»

Candidates who have not completed three years of education at the level of Secondary School II are legally not entitled to enroll in a bachelor’s study program. In exceptional cases the Examination Board can allow candidates to enter the admission procedure, given that they can provide evidence of several years of professional experience, further training, and outstanding artistic and design-related skills.

The following documents are required for admission by «sur dossier»:
— Application form plus appendices
— Tabular CV
— Personal statement, expectations (written application)
— Evidence of work experience in the creative field
— Portfolio
— Copy of certificate for German level B2 (for foreign language speakers)


Admission procedure

The admission procedure is structured as follows:

1. The submission of the registration form to the admission procedure completed digitally together with all required documents.

2. Once registration is completed, the admitted candidates are invited for an aptitude assessment regarding their creative and artistic skills. They are required to submit a portfolio and a motivation letter (deadline: 21.3.2019). More details will be announced in the invitation to the assessment.

3. Up to forty candidates are invited to an application interview. The interview is conducted by a jury of teachers and a student representative of the Art Institute (8.–11.4.2019).

Twenty candidates are generally accepted in the Bachelor of Arts in Bildender Kunst program, which begins in September.

Applicable for the admission process are the «Studien- und Prüfungsordnung der Bachelor- und Master-Studiengänge der Hochschule für Gestaltung und Kunst Fachhochschule Nordwestschweiz,» as well as «Studienreglement des Bachelor-Studiengangs Fine Arts.»

→ More information and registration on the FHNW website


Next application deadline
15 February 2019


For any questions please contact the Art Institute’s secretariat
+41 61 228 40 77
info.kunst.hgk@fhnw.ch

BACHELOR-STUDIENGANG

Bachelor of Arts FHNW in Bildender Kunst

Der Bachelor-Studiengang am Institut Kunst fördert die Entwicklung einer individuellen künstlerischen Haltung. Die Studierenden lernen in der Atelierarbeit, in Projekten und Ausstellungen ihre eigene künstlerische Sprache zu erarbeiten. Dabei setzt das Studium auf ein hohes Mass an Selbstinitiative.

Kunst zu studieren bedeutet, mit Kunst vertraut zu werden. Künstlerinnen und Künstler sind Pioniere, wenn es darum geht, Welten, die scheinbar nichts gemein haben, auf neuartige Weise zu verbinden. Sie definieren die Sprache traditioneller Medien, Materialien und Technologien neu, indem sie Werke schaffen, Konzepte ersinnen, Essays verfassen, Archive aufdecken, Körper im Raum choreografieren. Künstlerinnen und Künstler interessieren sich für die nicht endende Auseinandersetzung mit allem, was zur andersartigen Betrachtung der sogenannten Realität beiträgt.

Im dreijährigen Bachelor-Studiengang werden Sie mit Fragestellungen der heutigen Kunstpraxis vertraut gemacht und bei der Entwicklung Ihrer individuellen Arbeit unterstützt. Neben der freien Atelierarbeit gehören Workshops, Projekte, Studienwochen Kunst und Theorie sowie Gruppendiskussionen als auch individuelle Mentoratsgespräche mit Dozierenden, technischen Mitarbeitenden und Mitstudierenden zum Kern des Studiums. Sie lernen sowohl technische Kenntnisse als auch Fragestellungen der heutigen Kunstpraxis kennen und vertiefen diese im dreijährigen Bachelorstudium. Nebst dem Team des Institut Kunst begleiten Sie Künstlerinnen und Künstler sowie Theoretikerinnen und Theoretiker aus dem In- und Ausland als Gastdozierende.

Download Magazin Unser Bachelor-Studiengang – Institut Kunst HGK FHNW


Zulassungskriterien

Für die Zulassung zum Aufnahmeverfahren am Institut Kunst wird in der Regel vorausgesetzt:
— eine eidgenössisch anerkannte gymnasiale Maturität
— eine eidgenössisch anerkannte Berufsmaturität
— eine eidgenössisch anerkannte Fachmaturität für das Berufsfeld Gestaltung und Kunst
— ein Lehrer/innen-Seminar
— eine dreijährige anerkannte Handelsmittelschule

Für anderweitig erworbene Ausbildungen führt die Hochschule für Gestaltung und Kunst eine Äquivalenz-Prüfung durch.
Eine einjährige Arbeitserfahrung oder der Besuch eines Gestalterischen Vorkurses werden nicht vorausgesetzt, aber empfohlen.


Vorbereitungskurs der AKAD

Kandidatinnen und Kandidaten ohne Berufs-, Fach- oder gymnasiale Maturität, aber mit abgeschlossener Ausbildung von mindestens drei Jahren auf Sekundarstufe II haben die Möglichkeit, eine eidgenössisch anerkannte Berufsmaturität (nach der Lehre) zu erwerben oder den zweisemestrigen, berufsbegleitenden Vorbereitungskurs für die Aufnahmeprüfung (HGK FHNW) an der AKAD zu besuchen. Dieser Kurs in allgemeinbildenden Fächern erfolgt im Fernunterricht und wird mit einer Prüfung auf dem Niveau einer Berufsmaturität abgeschlossen. Die Anmeldung bei der AKAD ist jederzeit möglich.

Die Hochschule kann Kandidatinnen und Kandidaten, welche die AKAD-Prüfung bis zu diesem Termin nicht abgeschlossen haben, zur gestalterischen Eignungsabklärung zulassen. Nach erfolgreicher Absolvierung des Aufnahmeverfahrens müssen sie zunächst den Vorbereitungskurs HGK FHNW bei der AKAD nachholen. Wenn der Nachweis über die bestandene AKAD-Prüfung bis spätestens am 30. Juni des Jahres erbracht wird, können die Kandidatinnen und Kandidaten im Herbstsemester desselben Jahres mit dem Studium beginnen. Bis zu diesem Zeitpunkt wird der Studienplatz zugesichert. Die Kurs- und Prüfungskosten sind von den Kandidatinnen und Kandidaten selbst zu tragen.

AKAD College Zürich, Jungholzstrasse 43
, 8050 Zürich

+41 44 307 31 31, college@akad.chwww.akad-college.ch


Nachholen der Berufsmaturität

Informationen für vollzeitliche oder berufsbegleitende Ausbildungsgänge der technischen, gestalterischen und gewerblichen Berufsmaturität geben die örtlichen Berufsschulen.


Bewerbung «sur dossier»

Kandidatinnen und Kandidaten ohne abgeschlossene Ausbildung von mindestens drei Jahren auf Sekundarstufe II haben keinen gesetzlichen Anspruch auf Zulassung zum Bachelor-Studium. Sie können in Ausnahmefällen durch die Prüfungsleitung zum Aufnahmeverfahren zugelassen werden, wenn sie sich über mehrjährige Berufstätigkeit und Weiterbildung und über hervorragende künstlerische und gestalterische Fähigkeiten ausweisen (Zulassung «sur dossier»).

Im Falle einer Bewerbung «sur dossier» sind folgende Dokumente beizulegen:
— Anmeldeformular inkl. Beilagen
— Tabellarischer Lebenslauf
— Motivationsschreiben (schriftliches Gesuch)
— Belege der Arbeitserfahrung im gestalterischen Bereich
— Portfolio
— Kopie zertifiziertes Deutschniveau B2 (nur für Fremdsprachige)


Aufnahmeverfahren

Das Aufnahmeverfahren gliedert sich wie folgt:

1. Die Einreichung des am Computer abgefüllten Anmeldeformulars zum Aufnahmeverfahren mit allen ergänzenden Unterlagen.

2. Nach erfolgreicher Anmeldung werden die zugelassenen Kandidatinnen und Kandidaten zur Eignungsabklärung in Bezug auf die gestalterischen und künstlerischen Fähigkeiten eingeladen. Eingereicht werden ein Portfolio und ein Motivationsschreiben (bis am 21.3.2019). Details dazu werden mit der Einladung zur Eignungsabklärung kommuniziert.

3. Bis auf 40 Kandidatinnen und Kandidaten werden zu einem Bewerbungsgespräch eingeladen (8. – 11.4.2019). Das Gespräch findet mit einer Jury bestehend aus Dozierenden sowie eine studentische Vertretung des Institut Kunst statt.

Es werden pro Jahr in der Regel 20 Kandidatinnen und Kandidaten zum Bachelor-Studiengang Fine Arts zugelassen. Das Studium beginnt jeweils im September.

Für das Aufnahmeverfahren gelten die «Studien- und Prüfungsordnung der Bachelor- und Master-Studiengänge der Hochschule für Gestaltung und Kunst Fachhochschule Nordwestschweiz», sowie das «Studienreglement des Bachelor-Studiengangs Kunst».

→ Mehr Informationen und Anmeldung auf der Webseite der FHNW


Nächste Anmeldungsfrist:
15. Februar 2019


Fragen bitte an das Sekretariat des Institut Kunst richten
+41 61 228 40 77
info.kunst.hgk@fhnw.ch