Be Welcome

How to introduce an institute of art? This is probably the most difficult task for a place that is many things: an institution, with norms and rules, and a community with idiosyncrasies and moods. It still seems like a luxury today to be able to encompass these two elements, as well as the courses, the teaching, the learning, the discovery of one’s self, one’s practice through the encounter of others, artists, friends, individuals, and practitioners who try things out in ways that are not «innovative» or «experimental», but just investigative, insistent, curious, empathic, humble, and yet stubborn, personal, and full of hope for a work, a process, a performance, a gesture that will help to connect.

The Art Institute is constituted by all the individuals who are part of it, the regular teachers, the staff, the technical team, the many guests who come, and—crucially—the one hundred young artists who study with us. The bachelor and master programs are well differentiated; the schedules and activities are not the same. But the social space of the Institute is one. The studios are shared, students decide at the beginning of the year where they want to be, and the many and great workshops offer as an opportunity to share space and skills independently of the program you are in; the weekly artists talks, the biannual symposiums, and many other informal opportunities that bring us all together.

Bachelor

One of the most important elements of our bachelor’s program is the environment. We are small in scale, and therefore we can put all our effort into our students, into motivating them and creating the quality of experience in studying art, from access to great workshops to conversations with teachers and guests to the many seminars. Care, nearness, and continuous guidance are keys to our method of introducing you to the world of art.

More information about our bachelor’s program


Master

The master’s program is oriented towards curiosity […], a force that encourages you not only to like what others do, but to commit to forms of making that mark a difference, that offer resistance to conventions. Since the world is turning more and more into a very normative space, where freedom is not a given, art may provide us with eccentric spaces of quality where a different sensing of matter and the relations between forms of life can be preserved.

More information about our master’s program

Team

Research Staff

Marion Ritzmann

Research Assistance

Manuel Schneider
Alice Wilke
Simon Würsten

Technical Staff

Patrick Doggweiler
Martina Jung
Konrad Sigl

Technical Assistance

Inka Ter Haar
Chris Handberg
Steven Schoch

Administration

Rosanna Monteleone
Massimo Racchi

External Mentors

Daniel Karrer
Basim Magdy
Claudia Müller
Ingo Niermann
Dorian Sari

Mentors in cooperation with CAP HKB (MA) Bern

Campus

The Art Institute is part of the Campus of the Arts (campusderkuenste.ch), situated just ten minutes away from Basel’s main station. Articulated around its main building, a silvery tower, the campus is a hub for creativity and artistic practices. In addition to the Academy of Art and Design, the campus is also home to the House of Electronic Arts (hek.ch), as well as other institutions and companies active in the areas of art and design.

Students are provided with a personal studio space that they can freely use and access anytime. Several workshops with professional support are also at your disposal at the Institute:

Analog studio
Digital studio
Painting studio
Central workshops of HGK
Campus facilities

Welcome

Wie stellt man ein Kunstinstitut vor? Das ist wohl die schwierigste Aufgabe für einen Ort, der so vieles ist: eine Institution mit Normen und Regeln und eine Gemeinschaft mit Eigenheiten und Stimmungen. Auch heute erscheint es immer noch als ein Luxus, diese beiden Elemente miteinander zu verbinden, sowie mit den Kursen, dem Unterrichten, dem Lernen, der Entdeckung des eigenen Selbst und der eigenen Praxis durch die Begegnung mit anderen. Gemeinsam mit Künstlerinnen und Künstlern, Freundinnen und Freunden, Individuen und Praktizierenden, welche die Dinge nicht «innovativ» oder «experimentell», sondern lediglich investigativ, beharrlich, neugierig, einfühlsam, bescheiden und hartnäckig zugleich, persönlich und voller Hoffnung auf ein Werk, einen Prozess, eine Performance, eine verbindende Geste, ausprobieren.

Das Institut Kunst besteht aus allen Personen, die daran beteiligt sind, den regulär Dozierenden, den Mitarbeitenden, dem technischen Team, den vielen Gästen, die zu uns kommen, und insbesondere den hundert jungen Künstlerinnen und Künstlern, die bei uns studieren. Die Bachelor- und Masterstudiengänge sind gut differenziert, die Stundenpläne und Aktivitäten sind nicht gleich. Aber der soziale Raum des Institut Kunst ist ein gemeinsamer. Die Ateliers werden geteilt, die Studierenden entscheiden zu Beginn des Jahres, wo sie sein möchten, und die vielen, grossartigen Werkstätten bieten Möglichkeiten, Raum und Fähigkeiten miteinander zu teilen, unabhängig vom Programm, in welchem du dich befindest; sowie die wöchentlichen Art Talks, die halbjährlichen Symposien und viele andere informelle Gelegenheiten, die uns alle zusammenbringen.

Bachelor

Unser Bachelor-Studiengang zeichnet sich in hohem Mass durch das Umfeld aus, das er bietet. Von der Grössenordnung her betrachtet sind wir ein kleines Institut, doch gerade deshalb in der Lage, uns in vollem Umfang unseren Studierenden widmen zu können. Wir motivieren euch, wir versuchen, die Erfahrungsqualitäten, die zum Kunststudium gehören zu befördern, wir ermöglichen den Zugang zu hervorragenden Werkstätten, bieten Gespräche mit unseren Lehrenden sowie zahlreiche Seminare an. All dies wird mit viel Sorge, Nähe und kontinuierlicher Betreuung betrieben – das ist für uns entscheidend, wenn es darum geht, euch in die Welt der Kunst einzuführen.

Mehr zu unserem Bachelor-Studiengang


Master

Der Master-Studiengang wendet sich an die Neugierde. […] Worum es geht, ist die Entwicklung einer Kraft, die euch dazu anregen soll, nicht bloss zu mögen was andere tun, sondern euch selbst dem Herstellen von Formen zu widmen, die einen Unterschied machen und sich Konventionen gegenüber widerständig erweisen. Da sich die Welt schrittweise in einen äusserst normativen Ort verwandelt, an dem Freiheit keineswegs mehr selbstverständlich ist, kann uns die Kunst aussergewöhnliche Räume der Qualität zur Verfügung stellen, in denen wir uns ein anderes Erfühlen der Materie und des Verhältnisses der Lebensformen zueinander bewahren können.

Mehr zu unserem Master-Studiengang

Team

Wissenschaftliche Mitarbeitende

Marion Ritzmann

Wissenschaftliche Assistenz

Manuel Schneider
Alice Wilke
Simon Würsten

Technische Mitarbeitende

Patrick Doggweiler
Martina Jung
Konrad Sigl

Technische Assistenz

Inka Ter Haar
Chris Handberg
Steven Schoch

Administration

Rosanna Monteleone
Massimo Racchi

Externe Mentoren

Daniel Karrer
Basim Magdy
Claudia Müller
Ingo Niermann
Dorian Sari

Mentoren in Kooperation mit CAP HKB (MA) Bern

Campus

Das Institut Kunst ist Teil des Campus der Künste (campusderkuenste.ch), der etwa 10 Minuten mit Tram oder Fahrrad vom Basler Hauptbahnhof entfernt ist. Um das Hauptgebäude herum bildet der Campus der Künste ein Zentrum für Kreativität und künstlerische Praktiken. Neben der Hochschule für Gestaltung und Kunst (fhnw.ch/hgk) sind das Haus der Elektronischen Künste (hek.ch), die Bibliothek für Gestaltung (sfgbasel.ch/bibliothek-fur-gestaltung-basel), sowie andere Institutionen und Unternehmen hier ansässig, die auf den Gebieten Kunst und Design tätig sind.

Neben den persönlichen Ateliers stehen den Studierenden verschiedene Werkstätten mit professioneller Unterstützung am Institut zur Verfügung:

→ Analoge Werkstatt
→ Digitale Werkstatt
→ Malwerkstatt
→ Zentrale Werkstätten der HGK
→ Einrichtungen auf dem Campus